Author Topic: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting  (Read 6877 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2018, 11:26:07 AM »
No it saves under the name of the next player.
Player 3 is Roosevelt. So that looks correct.
Remeber I sent you the save called Peter while I am, in fact, Wilhelmina. :)
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth


Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 14573
  • Looking for walkie-talkies in 1809.....
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #16 on: November 01, 2018, 11:43:05 AM »
So.. if there are 4 humans and 2 AI players when do the AI player turns run? After the last player before he saves OR before the first player when he loads up?

I guess it really doesn't matter... just curious...

Diplomacy will be a little disjointed as well. You make an offer and have to wait until your next turn to see the results....
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

I'm not a drunk, I'm just Canadian - Shawn Germain

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2018, 11:48:26 AM »
I have no idea really.
Diplomacy works as normal though. It basically remains a singleplayer game with save file sharing.
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth

Offline Anguille

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • Actarus - prince of Euphor
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2018, 04:08:19 PM »
I have played my turn. Hope it works...

Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 14573
  • Looking for walkie-talkies in 1809.....
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2018, 07:10:01 PM »
Turn complete and sent.
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

I'm not a drunk, I'm just Canadian - Shawn Germain

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #20 on: November 02, 2018, 12:02:50 AM »
Did you guys need to rename the file as well?
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #21 on: November 02, 2018, 03:10:23 AM »
Ok, now that I’ve got the turn back I can elaborate on how to load your game without any fuss.

-First let the PYDT client download your turn.
-When it says its complete, start Civ.
-Go in the main menu to Multiplayer / Hotseat
-Click on the ‘Load Game’ button at the bottom of the screen.
-Select the game called ‘PYDT Play this One!’
-Civ will then show the lobby and you press ‘Start’ at the bottom to load your new turn.
-After loading into the game press ‘Start Turn’.
-Give your orders and when you press ‘End Turn’ you see a window with the NEXT PLAYER’S name in the header. Press Save Game and PDYT will pop up with a msg that it has detected a new save.
-Choose to upload it, then exit Civ and wait for the next turn!
(if you wonder how to exit without Alt F4, look in the topright corner of the screen; there is a menu button)

No renaming necessary.
Incidentally using these steps also show my own empire’s loading screen (after a long black screen ‘Loading’), but it might be so cause I am hosting.
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth

Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 14573
  • Looking for walkie-talkies in 1809.....
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #22 on: November 02, 2018, 04:27:51 AM »
It showed your, Dutch, start screen for me too. I think we all get that as you started the game.
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

I'm not a drunk, I'm just Canadian - Shawn Germain

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #23 on: November 02, 2018, 04:55:02 AM »
Ok, sorry.  :peace:
Its hard looking at a slightly obese elderly lady each time you load a turn. 🤗
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth

Offline Millipede

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #24 on: November 02, 2018, 06:20:22 AM »
Ok, now that I’ve got the turn back I can elaborate on how to load your game without any fuss.

-First let the PYDT client download your turn.
-When it says its complete, start Civ.
-Go in the main menu to Multiplayer / Hotseat
-Click on the ‘Load Game’ button at the bottom of the screen.
-Select the game called ‘PYDT Play this One!’
-Civ will then show the lobby and you press ‘Start’ at the bottom to load your new turn.
-After loading into the game press ‘Start Turn’.
-Give your orders and when you press ‘End Turn’ you see a window with the NEXT PLAYER’S name in the header. Press Save Game and PDYT will pop up with a msg that it has detected a new save.
-Choose to upload it, then exit Civ and wait for the next turn!
(if you wonder how to exit without Alt F4, look in the topright corner of the screen; there is a menu button)

No renaming necessary.
Incidentally using these steps also show my own empire’s loading screen (after a long black screen ‘Loading’), but it might be so cause I am hosting.

No joy.
The downloaded file has the same name as it did for turn 1 '(PYDT) with no suffix. After starting Civ6 and working through the various screens until clicking on the 'Load Game' button... the only games available are the renamed turn 1 download '(PYDT)0001 and the saved game that was sent on to Anguille TEDDY ROOSEVELT 1 4000 BC. I can certainly continue to rename the files but I thought I'd let you know that the renaming is still necessary. After the renaming, everything proceeds just as you've outlined above.

Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 14573
  • Looking for walkie-talkies in 1809.....
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #25 on: November 02, 2018, 06:33:14 AM »
That's very weird because I did not have to rename anything....

Are you using the PYDT client or downloading from the site?

I used the client and as soon as I open CIv VI hotseat load screen there's the save game....
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

I'm not a drunk, I'm just Canadian - Shawn Germain

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #26 on: November 02, 2018, 06:39:37 AM »
That’s really strange...
I think you might be the only one needing to rename? Anguille?
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth

Offline Millipede

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #27 on: November 02, 2018, 07:12:58 AM »
The only thing that I can think of is that the file that I download to start my turn needs to be named Peter * #.Civ6Save (* is turn number and # is date and Civ6Save won't be visible). Is there a way to accomplish that?

Offline Yskonyn

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 3594
  • The Flying Dutchman
    • Visit my blog: Yassy HQ for various things combat simulation.
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #28 on: November 02, 2018, 07:20:44 AM »
Might it be that I need to name your save something specific, me being in front of you, so to speak? I just save with the default given name by the game.
"(...) running a group thing online can be a little like herding cats :P" - mirth

Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 14573
  • Looking for walkie-talkies in 1809.....
Re: Civ 6 + all expansions PBEM game recruiting
« Reply #29 on: November 02, 2018, 07:20:48 AM »
The only thing that I can think of is that the file that I download to start my turn needs to be named Peter * #.Civ6Save (* is turn number and # is date and Civ6Save won't be visible). Is there a way to accomplish that?

Why does it "need" to be named that way? The file I open is called  ‘PYDT Play this One!’.... And I just save over the same file and the PYDT client immediately pops up and wants to send the file again.
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

I'm not a drunk, I'm just Canadian - Shawn Germain