Author Topic: What are we reading?  (Read 453113 times)

Offline Gusington

• The Jewish Missile
  • Global Moderator
  • Tercio
  • You must be at most 'this tall' to ride the Gus.
Re: What are we reading?
« Reply #4785 on: July 19, 2019, 05:39:52 PM »
^Have Dividing the Spoils in my Amazon shopping cart. Need to read that soon.
"Grogheads should be the only tribe on this site.”

- Besilarius, Community Sage

Offline Gusington

• The Jewish Missile
  • Global Moderator
  • Tercio
  • You must be at most 'this tall' to ride the Gus.
« Reply #4786 on: July 30, 2019, 07:51:11 AM »
Continuing my ancient reading marathon I have begun Harry Sidebottom’s third (of six) Warrior of Rome book. Fifty pages in and the writing is even better than the first two, which is saying something.
"Grogheads should be the only tribe on this site.”

- Besilarius, Community Sage

Offline DoctorQuest

• Condottieri
  • I'm not a real doctor.
« Reply #4787 on: July 30, 2019, 01:25:54 PM »
I found a number of the original Fleming Bond ebooks on Amazon for 99 cents. Been working through "Dr. No", "Goldfinger" and "Thunderball".

Great adventure fare if a bit dated. I read the hell out of these books in my youth. They are as good as I remember. The sad part is that Fleming did his best to live like Bond and ended up dead at 56. Getting away with heavy drinking and smoking is really the stuff of fiction, unfortunately.
"Everything you read on the internet is true." - Benjamin Franklin

"Zero-G and I feel fine....." - John Glenn

"I reject your reality and substitute my own." - Adam Savage, inventor of the alternative fact.

Offline ArizonaTank

• Man-at-Arms
« Reply #4788 on: July 30, 2019, 04:18:08 PM »
I decided to take the plunge on David Glantz' Stalingrad Series:

Starting with "To the Gates of Stalingrad"

Very well written for such a dense (in a good way) treatment of the subject.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0700616306/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1