Author Topic: Rise of the Rebellion Question  (Read 112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JudgeDredd

  • Longbowman
  • **
  • Posts: 8308
Rise of the Rebellion Question
« on: November 10, 2017, 11:10:36 PM »
Hi all

I think I may have cheated my daughter somewhat and I feel bad...but I am unsure so I'm looking for some clarification if possible please.

One of my advanced ground tactic cards said the Assault Tank prevents 2 Red Hits and 2 Black Hits and specifically shows the dice icon that represents one hit
  • .


My daughter rolled her 2 black dice and 2 green dice and she rolled 3 explosion icons (2 on black dice and 1 on the green dice) and she assigned 2 damage (red) to my AT-AT and 1 damage (red) to my Assault Tank.

I took this opportunity to prevent 2 of those hits (1 on my AT-AT and 1 on my Assault Tank - thus preventing me losing any units).

Clarification is required though because technically, they were 3 red hits and as such, I could cancel two of them with my card. However, the card specifically shows the hit icon when it mentions

Remove 2 Red Hits

Remove 2 Black Hits


Did I cheat her? Is the icon of the dice important on those cards or is it just generally "2 red hits and 2 black hits" regardless of what is rolled on the dice.

Personally, I think I got it wrong
I AM the Law


Offline Silent Disapproval Robot

  • Crossbowman
  • *
  • Posts: 5665
Re: Rise of the Rebellion Question
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2017, 11:34:28 PM »
Yup, you got it wrong.  You remove the hit rolls before they're assigned and it is icon specific.  It's under the heading PREVENTING HITS on pg 2 of the expansion rules. 

Offline JudgeDredd

  • Longbowman
  • **
  • Posts: 8308
Re: Rise of the Rebellion Question
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2017, 12:57:43 AM »
Yup, you got it wrong.  You remove the hit rolls before they're assigned and it is icon specific.  It's under the heading PREVENTING HITS on pg 2 of the expansion rules.
You are right. Believe it or not, I have read the rules - several times - AND I look them up on occasion.

She's going to be very pleased - we'll redo the battle.

Thanks
I AM the Law

Offline Silent Disapproval Robot

  • Crossbowman
  • *
  • Posts: 5665
Re: Rise of the Rebellion Question
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2017, 06:34:02 PM »
I don't think I've yet played a boardgame where I haven't screwed up at least one rule per session.