boys, I just played Age of rifles on a samsumg galaxy tab 4 in a dosbox

Started by gameleaper, July 06, 2015, 05:00:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gameleaper

I just played Age of rifles on a samsumg galaxy tab 4 in a dosbox. I saw the dosbox app and decided to try it out, Im new to tablets so if this is old news sorry.

I found the dosbox to have lots of settings keyboard mouse joystick.

I had to hotswitch beteewn relative to absolute mouse tracking to do things in AoR and mouse sensitivity. Im not sure if its fully playable but it looks fine so far, ##I need to tinker with the settings more on the dosbox. you should give it ago if you has an android device

it looks like you can play almost any dos game on the tab, wow im blown away, with tablet gameimng, being mobile is great

Shelldrake

How difficult was the process of getting the game to run? A tablet seems like the perfect platform for a lot of DOS strategy classics.
"Just because something is beyond your comprehension doesn't mean it is scientific."

Dean Edell

gameleaper

OK AN UPDATE on AoR on my galaxy tab 4 ,Im not useing any external hamepads or anything and im useing dosbox tutbo, I mapped the four virtial buttons to DPAD_UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT , then i checked the checkbox to show buttons on screen. I changed mouse tracking to absolute, you can rotate the screen to get the buttons out of the way to emd turn.

The only niggle is chosing menu items, this will be better if your on a 10inch screen, or useing a stylus, buts its possible without, and im useing a 7inch galaxy tab 4.

you have to mount d storage/emulated/0/Download/doscd -t cdrom .. after you place RILES folder and CD files (doscd) into download folder

Toonces

I read about a bunch of folks trying to get the old Elder Scrolls games like Daggerfall to work on an Android tablet. 

Let me know if you get anywhere on that, GL.  That would be totally epic!  and you seem to know what the heck you're doing...