Query the Second: Squad Level WWII Madness

Started by Cyrano, October 24, 2014, 08:32:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cyrano

https://www.flickr.com/photos/thegascon/14994883594/

I would like to think the above establishes my bona fides on the matter.  I have certainly given at the office.

So I wonder, WHY do we play these and not Tiller's SB (which looks the most like them)? Or CMx2?  Or even CoH on the PC?  Each of the depicted games has its merits, and some are very lovely, but, especially on a time-to-reward basis, I have this nagging suspicion that I've been at the losing end.  And don't even get me started on the brain-melting complexity of ASL.  I write laws for a living and there have been times when I wanted to punch those rules straight in the face...the starter kit, mind. 

Am I just jealous because I don't have a regular game group to play these with?  Or is there some secret hidden within that I need to know a handshake to unlock?

Best,

Jim
"Cyrano"
:/7)

Sergeant at Arms of La Fraternite des Boutons Carres

One mustachioed, cigar-chomping, bespectacled deity, entirely at your service.

You didn't know? My Corps has already sailed to Berlin. We got there 3 days ago and we've been in the Tiergarten on the piss ever since. -- Marshal Soult, October 1806

ArizonaTank

For my part, I play both the boardgames and all of the PC games you mentioned. 

The only big difference between the two types for me, is that the PC lets me off the hook for knowing the rules.  So I often play these games after work when my brain is tired. 

I don't really have a preference for either type.
Johannes "Honus" Wagner
"The Flying Dutchman"
Shortstop: Pittsburgh Pirates 1900-1917
Rated as the 2nd most valuable player of all time by Bill James.

Jack Nastyface