Readable book on Pacific War

Started by Phantom, August 17, 2017, 01:09:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phantom

After being in my historical blind spot for 30 years I'm beginning to develop an interest in the WW2 Pacific Theater. Can anyone recommend a good single volume history book on this war?
What I'm after is something readable - by that I mean more in Shelby Foote's/Anthony Beevors style than say Glantz (I don't need to know Japans corn production figures for 1943). I'm happy for it to focus on American naval & island hopping operations  - mainland aspects of the conflict (Burma/India/China) not crucial, though if they're included that's OK.
Any suggestions, either for books you've read or one's that are widely viewed as leaders in the field would be appreciated - as mentioned, I'm a novice in this theater so when browsing the authors & titles they don't mean much to me.
Thanks & Regards
Keith

Silent Disapproval Robot

If you are OK with something that's mainly focussed on the Allied side and aren't bothered by somewhat triumphalist tone, The Conquering Tide is alright.   I really like The Rising Sun by John Toland but I think that might be getting a little too into the political/economic weeds.

bbmike

^ Toland's The Rising Sun is a great book.  O0
"My life is spent in one long effort to escape from the commonplace of existence."
-Sherlock Holmes

"You know, just once I'd like to meet an alien menace that wasn't immune to bullets."
-Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart

"There's a horror movie called Alien? That's really offensive. No wonder everyone keeps invading you!"
-The Doctor

"Before Man goes to the stars he should learn how to live on Earth."
-Clifford D. Simak

mirth

"45 minutes of pooping Tribbles being juggled by a drunken Horta would be better than Season 1 of TNG." - SirAndrewD

"you don't look at the mantelpiece when you're poking the fire" - Bawb

"Can't 'un' until you 'pre', son." - Gus

Con