Question about submarines and layer detection for all you submarine experten.

Started by Destraex, August 21, 2018, 10:49:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Destraex

A friend of mine asked this. I don't know what the latest tech does really. But those that play things like Command and that sort of thing may know. Any vets would be even better.

"I was wondering about the latest theories vis-a-vis the layer in submarine detection. If I'm in a sub and looking for other subs what are the considerations with the layer to maximise chance of detection of enemy subs while minimising self detection. I figure that as the chance of detecting the enemy increases so does discovery everything else being equal. If there's no surface ships above the layer is the go?"
"They only asked the Light Brigade to do it once"

Pete Dero

I'm no expert at all but I have been told :  Sub just above the layer and towed array sonar below the layer to increase chances of detecting the enemy.

If the enemy sub is hiding below the layer he will have a hard time detecting you while your sonar could detect him.  As you said if there is a surface ship now you are easier to detect.

Explained by Baloogan (member to the CMANO team)

larger playlist : https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLgRuKky0mojb3THVzt27NXtbe63tDEiwN

JasonPratt

Drawing on my extensive experience reading Tom Clancy novels (and playing the original RSR game): another advantage to being over the salinity layer is that sounds bounce farther, ricocheting between the surface and the layer.

Of course that includes your sounds. So if a sub isn't in a hurry, the captain will sometimes slow down and rise above the layer to listen around, and then sink below the layer to scoot for a while.
ICEBREAKER THESIS CHRONOLOGY! -- Victor Suvorov's Stalin Grand Strategy theory, in lots and lots of chronological order...
Dawn of Armageddon -- narrative AAR for Dawn of War: Soulstorm: Ultimate Apocalypse