This Weekend's Feature: Comparing Afghanistan '11 to Vietnam '65

Started by bayonetbrant, June 10, 2017, 06:07:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bayonetbrant

The key to surviving this site is to not say something which ends up as someone's tag line - Steelgrave

"their citizens (all of them counted as such) glorified their mythology of 'rights'...and lost track of their duties. No nation, so constituted, can endure." Robert Heinlein, Starship Troopers

airboy

I enjoyed the review.  I have Vietnam 65 (sadly unplayed).  What is the fun factor of each?

JasonPratt

I had a blast playing V65. (I've got an absolute newbie AAR for it in the digital AAR subthread somewhere. Um, here!) It's very much a solo board wargame blinged out nicely, with plenty of subtle depth, even though you essentially have to use Australian rather than American patrol tactics: there is no feasible way to win or even really play the game sending out patrols on a circuit loop back to base once per day. You have to hunt and camp in the bush with air supply being flown in regularly (and the occasional evac).

This article made me rather lust to buy Af11, even though I purchased it day 1! -- but I haven't played it yet.  :-[
ICEBREAKER THESIS CHRONOLOGY! -- Victor Suvorov's Stalin Grand Strategy theory, in lots and lots of chronological order...
Dawn of Armageddon -- narrative AAR for Dawn of War: Soulstorm: Ultimate Apocalypse
Survive Harder! -- Two season narrative AAR, an Amazon Blood Bowl career.
PanzOrc Corpz Generals -- Fantasy Wars narrative AAR, half a combined campaign.
Khazâd du-bekâr! -- narrative dwarf AAR for LotR BfME2 RotWK campaign.
RobO Q Campaign Generator -- archived classic CMBB/CMAK tool!

Boggit

Quote from: airboy on June 10, 2017, 10:33:24 PM
I enjoyed the review.  I have Vietnam 65 (sadly unplayed).  What is the fun factor of each?