Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Computer Wargaming / Re: VR?
« Last post by Yskonyn on Today at 03:43:25 AM »
Holy meatballs! I checked out Onward with a friend today!
http://store.steampowered.com/app/496240/Onward/

This is counter strike 3.0. Don't let the simplistic graphics fool you from screenshots. Indeed, the game is still early access and it shows, but man, whats in already is a superb experience!

Interacting with the weapons, unloading a magazine and reloading a new one, talking into the team radio, taking your PDA from your back, cooking grenades and throwing them are all actual physical actions!
Locomotion is well done, though it does give me motion sickness when I get too active. But then again I am a noob VR player.

Look at these videos to see whats possible;
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTfAwLbIkQc&t=325s

https://youtu.be/Ez-p6vNXapg

Definately one of the coolest multiplayer experiences I have had so far.

How is movement handled? With one of the touch thumbsticks? The videos I've seen make it look like it could turn into something really good.

So far I've spent my time in Elite:Dangerous VR, which worth the price of the oculus itself, and played a bit of Robo-recall. I've also been playing around with Google Earth which is pretty cool, and some of the art programs such as Medium, Quill, and Tilt Brush.
What I think could be cool would be if someone could take google earth vr and use it for virtual staff rides.

Come on, Jarhead! Stop acting like you know OUR Rift shizzle; the Touch controllers don't have a touchpad like on the Vive's controllers. 😜😊 They use analog thumbsticks like those found on console controllers and indeed the non-dominant one is used for movement, but there is a subtlety; you can either pan the view with 30 degree increments with the thumbstick on your dominant hand's controller, or you can tilt your non dominant hand to change your lateral view more naturally.
Its a great solution really.