Star Wars role-playing game

Started by acctingman, December 20, 2016, 06:17:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

acctingman

My best friend runs a D&D group (that I used to be a part of, but for some reason, I don't like pnp D&D).

After seeing Rogue One the suppressed desire to run a SW campaign cannot be contained! However, I know nothing about the various rulebooks out there AND I have zero experienced running any kind of game.

So, to anyone that has GM'd or played in a group....love to hear your comments or suggestions of which you prefer?

Thanks

Bison

We play the fantasy flight Star Wars RPG.  It is a lot of fun but uses a different dice mechanic than traditional RPGs.  Once you get over that learning curve the game system really opens up.  Any of the beginners boxes are a great introduction and give you most importantly a set of the dice.

acctingman

LOL

I was thinking you'd respond Bison!  :notworthy:

I'm going to pick up the beginner box and go through them. I've heard the old WEG d6 book(s) are too bad either. If I can find them on the cheap I might pick them up too.

Thanks!

Nefaro

I second his suggestion. 

Any Beginner Box for FFG's Star Wars RPG is great at teaching all the basics and providing the materials to take those first steps. 

If you end up enjoying that and want more then you can later pick up one, or more, of the core Hardback books.  They use the exact same system, but add more customization options, more GM stuff, and setting fluff.  A lot more of everything. 

There are three different core manuals, each based on what type of campaign you want to run.  Smuggler/Merc, Rebellion, or Force sensitives.  You only need one. 

Can also buy extra sets of the special Star Wars dice if you need more in the future.  I think many recommend having at least two sets, possibly more depending on how much you wanna pass around & share.