Author Topic: Railway Empire from Kalypso?  (Read 5564 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OJsDad

  • Crossbowman
  • *
  • Posts: 6103
  • Fighting for Oppressed Individualism
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #60 on: June 19, 2018, 12:33:26 PM »
Currently 30% off on Steam.
'Here at NASA we all pee the same color.'  Al Harrison from the movie Hidden Figures.


Offline bbmike

  • Crossbowman
  • *
  • Posts: 6325
    • AAR Central
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #61 on: June 19, 2018, 12:44:58 PM »
^I wonder what will happen to the price when the Summer Sale starts?
"My life is spent in one long effort to escape from the commonplace of existence."
-Sherlock Holmes

"You know, just once I'd like to meet an alien menace that wasn't immune to bullets."
-Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart

"There's a horror movie called Alien? That's really offensive. No wonder everyone keeps invading you!"
-The Doctor

“Before Man goes to the stars he should learn how to live on Earth.”
-Clifford D. Simak

Offline Steelgrave

  • The Boobfather
  • Global Moderator
  • Blunderbuster
  • *****
  • Posts: 26006
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #62 on: June 19, 2018, 01:14:05 PM »
Wasn't there a huge problem with the AI cheating like crazy? I remember this was on my wishlist until I read some of your comments on this thread. Wonder if that has been fixed to any extent?
"Nice job, Steelie. I think you've offended everyone in this thread"  O0  .......Mirth

"-- insert Steelie rant here--"......Sir Slash

Offline Geezer

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #63 on: June 19, 2018, 01:41:35 PM »
People were howling at launch that the AI did not have to build two way tracks and trains could pass through each other.  The game compensated for that, IIRC, with longer track building times for the AI.  Haven't played it in quite a while so I don't know if that is still the case or not, but the devs did not view it as a bug.
We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.  George Bernard Shaw

Offline DennisS

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #64 on: June 19, 2018, 01:44:59 PM »
People were howling at launch that the AI did not have to build two way tracks and trains could pass through each other.  The game compensated for that, IIRC, with longer track building times for the AI.  Haven't played it in quite a while so I don't know if that is still the case or not, but the devs did not view it as a bug.

Humans now have this ability...but it decreases the technical complexity. Not sure I like that. Switches and smart track laying are part of what appeals to me in a RR sim.

Offline Geezer

  • Equites
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #65 on: June 19, 2018, 03:02:27 PM »
Pretty sure players could do that from the beginning, but I agree it is totally unrealistic.  If it makes the AI play better then I really don't have a problem with it.
We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.  George Bernard Shaw

Offline DennisS

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #66 on: June 20, 2018, 02:47:50 PM »
The AI develops tracks and stations far faster than humans can. When this happens, and I review the amazing progress of the AI, it concerns me.

I am a good player..but I struggle keeping up with the AI. Seriously.

Offline demjansk1942

  • Velites
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #67 on: Yesterday at 05:48:12 PM »
I was playing some of the other railroad games, I am not getting it, takes a lot of time to learn on tycoon 3 and Sid Meier railroad. 

Offline DennisS

  • Viking
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
Re: Railway Empire from Kalypso?
« Reply #68 on: Yesterday at 09:10:18 PM »
I was playing some of the other railroad games, I am not getting it, takes a lot of time to learn on tycoon 3 and Sid Meier railroad.

Get Railroad Tycoon II instead. Much better game.