Forced to move from windows 7

Started by Con, October 24, 2016, 04:50:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Con

Hi guys

Well I was hoping this day wouldn't come but my SSD on my desktop is a Samsung 128GB pro and I have been limping along on it for the last 6 months (mostly to do with available space).  I tried all the tips and tricks on keeping the hd clean but just too many things (mostly itunes and backups for all the various tablets etc) have killed my available space.  Today I had my first failures due to lack of disk space that were not resolved with my normal ways of deleting unwanted files.  So I have ordered a new one (Samsung 500GB EVO).

So I wanted to know what my options for Windows were.  I currently use Windows 7 but I got it with my computer 6 years ago.  I have the original disks but should I re install it or go now with windows 10?  I am leaning to windows 10 since it will bring everything up to date.  Is the option of getting a free windows 10 passed?

Thanks for any advice
Con 

Staggerwing

Sorry to say but the 'Free Windows 10' Ship has sailed. The only way to get it free now is if you previously installed it but then reverted back That's because your Mobo's unique ID will be in Microsoft's databases somewhere and you will get a second chance. For now...
Vituð ér enn - eða hvat?  -Voluspa

Nothing really rocks and nothing really rolls and nothing's ever worth the cost...

"Don't you look at me that way..." -the Abyss

'When searching for a meaningful embrace, sometimes my self respect took second place' -Iggy Pop, Cry for Love

... this will go down on your permanent record... -the Violent Femmes, 'Kiss Off'-

"I'm not just anyone, I'm not just anyone-
I got my time machine, got my 'electronic dream!"
-Sonic Reducer, -Dead Boys

mirth

Reinstall Win 7. Or better still, there must be a way to transfer everything to the new drive.
"45 minutes of pooping Tribbles being juggled by a drunken Horta would be better than Season 1 of TNG." - SirAndrewD