Chit makers!

Started by acctingman, April 28, 2017, 04:43:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

acctingman

So, anyone here know a good way to make your own chit?..lol, sorry....I'm so juvenile sometimes  :DD

Anyways, my friend gifted me Conflict of Heroes and I LOVE it. Buying the solo expansion soon, but I was thinking of adding my own units. Italians, Brits and more of every other nation. So.....my question to you cardboard pushers is, where does one get chits made? Do you make them yourself? Is there someone who provides the service?

Also, to anyone who has done this sort of thing. What program do you use to make the counters? Let's say I wanted to make a M-4A4 counter. I'd find an image online, but how does one get the stats on the counter.

I'm going to head over to BoardgameGeek and see if I can find some info.

Thanks

ArizonaTank

I'm not an expert, but I have done this. 

GMT makes plenty of blank supplies and noble knight sells them:

http://www.nobleknight.com/ViewProducts.asp_Q_ProductLineID_E_2137418062_A_ManufacturerID_E_127_A_CategoryID_E_4_A_GenreID_E_

I start with a countersheet scan from Boardgame Geek; most games have them now.  I take a counter image that is close to the one I want to make, then use a paint program to change it.  Lets say it is a 2-3 counter, but you want 4-3.  Find another counter with a "4", copy the "4" over to the counter you are making.  For a new image, say a Sherman silhouette, you will need to play around with the paint program to get it on there.

Once the counter has the content I want, I play around with sizing the image to get it right.  I then print on a color printer.  I glue to image onto the blank counter, and use some sort of seal to give it some durability and a nice sheen.  They aren't wonderful, but sometimes it's hard to tell the difference once you get the knack. 

Of course, this absolutely works to make replacement counters as well.

Johannes "Honus" Wagner
"The Flying Dutchman"