Adventures in Mini painting with my Daughters...Part I

Started by Jack Nastyface, May 14, 2014, 03:17:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jack Nastyface

Attended a recent "paint and take" event with my 12 year old.  Here are the results.
Mine is the bug-eyed cleric on the left; my daughter painted the warrier princess on the right.
I chose the cleric because of the robes.  I used the following method:  paint mid-shade first, then do dark shadowing, then do 2 layers of high-lighting for the "stand out" areas.  If I was to do a robe/cape mini again, I think I would do a base coat of dark shadow, then blend (which I am not very good at) the medium tone, then finally do high-lights.  Admittedly, lighting conditions were not ideal in the hobby store and I see f**k all detail without some good reading glasses.
I suppose practice makes perfect, but there are lots of simple techniques I could have used, but our instructor was just a little timid with the class.
Comments or recommendations on technique appreciated.
Yours in gaming,
Jack Nastyface

Now, the problem is, how to divide five Afghans from three mules and have two Englishmen left over.

GDS_Starfury

Jarhead - Yeah. You're probably right.

Gus - I use sweatpants with flannel shorts to soak up my crotch sweat.

Banzai Cat - There is no "partial credit" in grammar. Like anal sex. It's either in, or it's not.

Mirth - We learned long ago that they key isn't to outrun Star, it's to outrun Gus.

Martok - I don't know if it's possible to have an "anti-boner"...but I now have one.

Gus - Celery is vile and has no reason to exist. Like underwear on Star.

GDS_Starfury

Banzai Cat - There is no "partial credit" in grammar. Like anal sex. It's either in, or it's not.

Mirth - We learned long ago that they key isn't to outrun Star, it's to outrun Gus.

Martok - I don't know if it's possible to have an "anti-boner"...but I now have one.

GDS_Starfury