Author Topic: GPU RAM - How much  (Read 390 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OJsDad

  • Landsknecht
  • *******
  • Posts: 4824
  • Fighting for Oppressed Individualism
GPU RAM - How much
« on: July 15, 2017, 12:47:12 PM »
I'm looking at putting together a new PC.  Looking at video cards, I'm trying to decide if I should go with 4gb or 8gb on the card.  Any thoughts. 
'Here at NASA we all pee the same color.'  Al Harrison from the movie Hidden Figures.


Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 12396
  • Looking for dark matter in deep, dark holes....
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 01:36:17 PM »
Go to 8GB if you can at all afford it. There a mod for Civ VI that I can't run because I only have 4 and the min spec is 6.
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

Online JudgeDredd

  • Longbowman
  • **
  • Posts: 8283
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2017, 02:28:17 PM »
Go to 8GB if you can at all afford it. There a mod for Civ VI that I can't run because I only have 4 and the min spec is 6.
Minimum requirement of 6GB for GPU ram?  :o
I AM the Law

Offline Barthheart

  • Order of the Square Button
  • Arquebusier
  • *
  • Posts: 12396
  • Looking for dark matter in deep, dark holes....
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2017, 03:02:23 PM »
Go to 8GB if you can at all afford it. There a mod for Civ VI that I can't run because I only have 4 and the min spec is 6.
Minimum requirement of 6GB for GPU ram?  :o

Yeah.... massive earth map.
PETS - People for the Ethical Treatment of Square corners

Offline Greybriar

  • Condottieri
  • ******
  • Posts: 2406
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2017, 08:53:37 PM »
Go to 8GB if you can at all afford it. There a mod for Civ VI that I can't run because I only have 4 and the min spec is 6.

I've got 8 GB and haven't had any problem running games, so I'd say Barthheart is correct.
Regardless of how good a PC game may be it will always have its detractors and no matter how bad a PC game may be it will always have its fans.

Offline BanzaiCat

  • Arquebusier
  • ***
  • Posts: 16078
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2017, 08:13:01 AM »
The capacity on a graphics card would be much more important, wouldn't it?

The rig I have has 12GB on it, but the graphics card sucks, so I can't even run games like Skyrim or Homefront on it without getting glitches on the characters.

Offline mirth

  • Little Bo Beep
  • Musketeer
  • *
  • Posts: 40704
  • Cardboard Harlot
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2017, 08:22:44 AM »
The capacity on a graphics card would be much more important, wouldn't it?

The rig I have has 12GB on it, but the graphics card sucks, so I can't even run games like Skyrim or Homefront on it without getting glitches on the characters.

They're talking about graphics cards, dingus. GPU = Graphics Processing Unit or "Graphics Card" aka Video Card :P
"45 minutes of pooping Tribbles being juggled by a drunken Horta would be better than Season 1 of TNG." - SirAndrewD

Offline BanzaiCat

  • Arquebusier
  • ***
  • Posts: 16078
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2017, 08:30:27 AM »
I'm not a dingus, I'm a troll.

But yes, kind of a dingus.

Offline mirth

  • Little Bo Beep
  • Musketeer
  • *
  • Posts: 40704
  • Cardboard Harlot
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2017, 08:35:22 AM »
Where's Batman? He's the Ultimate Troll.
"45 minutes of pooping Tribbles being juggled by a drunken Horta would be better than Season 1 of TNG." - SirAndrewD

Offline BanzaiCat

  • Arquebusier
  • ***
  • Posts: 16078
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2017, 08:56:39 AM »

Offline Pete Dero

  • Man-at-Arms
  • *****
  • Posts: 1102
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2017, 08:57:22 AM »
Go to 8GB if you can at all afford it. There a mod for Civ VI that I can't run because I only have 4 and the min spec is 6.

Why not go all the way : 

https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/AMD-Radeon-Vega-Frontier-Edition-16GB-Liquid-Cooled-Review   16 GB at a $1500

or the budget version :

https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/Radeon-Vega-Frontier-Edition-16GB-Air-Cooled-Review  16 GB at a $999


Offline OJsDad

  • Landsknecht
  • *******
  • Posts: 4824
  • Fighting for Oppressed Individualism
Re: GPU RAM - How much
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2017, 09:24:36 AM »
Go to 8GB if you can at all afford it. There a mod for Civ VI that I can't run because I only have 4 and the min spec is 6.

Why not go all the way : 

https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/AMD-Radeon-Vega-Frontier-Edition-16GB-Liquid-Cooled-Review   16 GB at a $1500

or the budget version :

https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/Radeon-Vega-Frontier-Edition-16GB-Air-Cooled-Review  16 GB at a $999

Why's the easy part, I'm married.   :coolsmiley:
'Here at NASA we all pee the same color.'  Al Harrison from the movie Hidden Figures.